Great Britain imposed sanctions against the heads of Russian regions

The UK has added 42 new names to the Russian sanctions list, Reuters reports . The heads of 27 Russian regions fell under the sanctions, in particular, those that border on Ukraine.

The list includes the governor of the Kursk region Roman Starovoit, the governor of the Bryansk region Alexander Bogomaz, the governor of the Voronezh region Alexander Gusev, as well as the heads and interim governors of the Amur, Vladimir, Volgograd, Vologda, Kaluga, Leningrad, Lipetsk, Nizhny Novgorod, Novosibirsk, Orenburg, Samara, Saratov regions , Sverdlovsk, Tambov, Tyumen, Chelyabinsk regions, the republics of Bashkortostan, Komi, Chuvashia and Yakutia, Altai, Krasnoyarsk and Stavropol territories and the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug.

Also under the sanctions were the head of the "government" of the so-called DPR Vitaly Khotsenko and the first deputy chairman of the "government" of the "LPR", the former vice-governor of the Kurgan region Vladislav Kuznetsov.

All of them are now banned from entering the UK, and their assets in the country are subject to freezing.

On June 29, the British authorities added Vladimir Potanin and Said Gutseriev to the list of entrepreneurs, as well as the governor of the Kemerovo region Sergey Tsivilev and his wife Anna Tsivileva, the cousin of Russian President Vladimir Putin.

The UK also announced sanctions against Russian citizens and companies for supporting Syrian President Bashar al-Assad and "in reprisals against the civilian population."

In total, the UK has imposed sanctions on more than 1,000 individuals and 100 legal entities from the Russian Federation. Sanctions were imposed, in particular, on Alina Kabaeva, head of the board of directors of the National Media Group, Kabaeva's grandmother Anna Zatsepilina, Putin's ex-wife Lyudmila Ocheretnaya and his other relatives: Mikhail Putin, Igor Putin, Roman Putin and Mikhail Shelomov.

American Daily Newspaper

Learn More →